18th Century (1700-1799) C.E.


1700 Murshid Quli Khan declares the independence of Bengal and establishes his capital at Murshidabad.

1703 Ahmad 11I becomes the Ottoman Sultan. Birth of Shah Wali Ullah. Birth of the religious reformer Muhammad b Abdul Wahab.

1707 Death of the Mughal emperor Aurangzeb, accession of his son Bahadur Shah.
1711 War between Turkey and Russia. Russia defeated at the battle of Pruth.
1712 Death of the Mughal emperor Bahadur Shah, accession of Jahandar Shah.
1713 Jahandar Shah overthrown by his nephew Farrukh Siyar.
1718 In the war against Austria, Turkey suffers defeat. By the treaty of Passarowich Turkey loses Hungary.

1719 Deposition of the Mughal emperor Farrukh Siyar Muhammad Shah ascends the throne. In Sind the Kalhoras came to power under Nur Muhammad Kalhora.

1722 Saadat Khan found the independent state of Oudh. Battle of Gulnabad between the Afghans and the Persians. The Persians were defeated and the Afghans under Shah Mahmud became the masters of a greater part of Persia. Shah Hussain taken captive, accession of Shah Tahmasp II.

1730 Zanzibar freed from Portugese rule and occupied by Oreart.
1747 Ahmad Shah Durrani established Afghan rule in Afghanistan.
1752 Death of Shah Abdul Latif Bhitai, writer of Sassi Pannu, Sohni Mahinwal and Umer Marvo.
1752 Ahmed Shah Durrani captured Punjab, Kashmir and Sind.
1761 Death of Shah Waliullah Dehlavi.
1761 Battle of Panipat. Ahmad Shah Durrani came to India at the invitation of Shah Waliullah Dehlavi and smashed rising Maratha power in the battle of Panipat.

1764 Conversion to Islam of Areadi Gaya. ruler of Futa Bandu State in West Sudan.
1773 Death of Ahmad Shah Durrani.
1783 End of Kalhora rule in Sind.
1797 Death of Muhammad Khan Qachar, king of Persia.
1797 Russia occupied Daghestan.
1799 Ranjit Singh declared himself Maharajah of Punjab defeating Afghans.
1799 Khoqand declared independent Islamic State.



15th Century
(1400-1499) C.E.

16th Century
(1500-1599) C.E.

17th Century
(1600-1699) C.E.

18th Century
(1700-1799) C.E.

19th Century
(1800-1899) C.E.

20th Century
(1900-1992) C.E.